Thursday, August 24, 2006

Bye, Bye Pluto

So it appears our solar system only really ever had eight planets. Just think of how much money is going to be necessary to update all the 3rd grade science textbooks.

Leading astronomers declared Thursday that Pluto is no longer a planet under historic new guidelines that downsize the solar system from nine planets to eight.

After a tumultuous week of clashing over the essence of the cosmos, the International Astronomical Union stripped Pluto of the planetary status it has held since its discovery in 1930. The new definition of what is — and isn’t — a planet fills a centuries-old black hole for scientists who have labored since Copernicus without one.

[Via Dvorak Uncensored]


  • Did anyone else notice how MSNBC can’t count?

    “Pluto and its moon Charon, which would both have been planets under the initial definition proposed Aug. 16, now get demoted because they are part of a sea of other objects that occupy the same region of space. Earth and the other eight large planets have, on the other hand, cleared broad swaths of space of any other large objects.”

    Eight? That’s the new total number of planets. Someone wasn’t paying attention when they wrote the article…

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 9:34 AM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home